Thanks to generous contributors, the Highline Schools Foundation is proud to offer many different types of scholarships with awards up to $30,000 — and only one application to complete!

Scholarships are made possible by gifts made to the Foundation, both through individual gifts and endowed funds providing long-term scholarship support. Nearly all of our scholarships are needs-based, and applications are screened based on the Washington State DSHS Median Income Chart. All scholarships are paid directly to the student’s educational institution and may be used for tuition, on-campus housing, books, and fees.

2023 Scholarship Application is Closed

The Scholarship Committee is now reviewing applications, and awards will be announced in early May, and recipients will be announced and awarded at our Scholarship Reception in May.

We are offering 19 scholarships this year, with 32 total awards ranging from $1,000 to $30,000 for eligible students graduating from any of Highline’s high schools in June 2023, all via one simple application. Scholarships are available for college and universities, trade and vocational schools, and even for graduates planning to enter the military or similar career path. 

To be eligible for a Highline Schools Foundation scholarship, applicants must complete the scholarship application in full (linked below) — including essays and recommendations, and be a senior at any high school within Highline Public Schools graduating in Spring 2023. 

Scholarships Offered in 2023

13th Year Scholarship

This scholarship supports students who might otherwise be unable to continue their education beyond high school. Four (4) $5,000 scholarships will be awarded.

Alaska Airlines Scholarship and Alaska Airlines Raisbeck Aviation Scholarship

This scholarship, funded by Alaska Airlines, offers four (4) awards of $5,000 to two graduates of any Highline Public Schools’ high school and to two students graduating from Raisbeck Aviation High School in 2022.

Anne Gregory Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was created to support Evergreen High School graduates who have mitigating financial circumstances that limit their access to financial resources. This could include immigration or residency status. The scholarship was set up in memory of former Evergreen teacher Anne Gregory. This scholarship is $2,000 for the first year of college.

Burien Arts Association Scholarship

This scholarship is for a Highline Public Schools graduate who will pursue a visual arts degree at an accredited arts organization or four-year college/university. This is a one-time award of $1,000.

Burien PRIDE Scholarship

New in 2023! Created in partnership with Burien PRIDE, this scholarship is offered to a LGBTQ+ student from any high school in Highline. A one-year scholarship of $7,500 will be awarded.

Catherine Foss Scholarship                                          

This scholarship provides $5,000 annually for up to four years (if a minimum 2.5 GPA is maintained) to a Highline Public Schools student attending an accredited college or trade school. Two scholarships will be awarded in 2023.

CM Garrity Scholarship

This scholarship provides $7,500 annually for four years (if a minimum 2.5 GPA is maintained) to a student attending a 4-year university, for a total award of $30,000. Two scholarships will be awarded.

Delta Kappa Gamma Beta Beta Scholarship

New in 2023! This scholarship is for female-identifying graduating seniors planning to study education. Funded by the Beta Beta chapter of Delta Kappa Gamma, this scholarship has a total award of $10,000 over two years, and will be awarded to two students.

Fred Vaughn Scholarship

The Fred Vaughan Scholarship provides a one-time $2,000 scholarship to students graduating from any Highline Public Schools high school based on need, academic achievement, and community service.

Fredenburg Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship, created in memory of Harriette Fredenburg, beloved math teacher at Evergreen High School, is a one-time $1,000 award to one Evergreen High School graduating senior, who plans to study math or education.

Gateway Scholarship

Created by community member Randi Sibonga, this scholarship is to support students who have experienced homelessness. This annual scholarship with a one-time award of $5,000 is for graduating seniors from any high school in Highline with financial need.

Highline Challenge Scholarship

The Highline Challenge Scholarship is provided by Secondary Success and Career Readiness at Highline Public Schools to support students graduating from any Highline Public Schools high school to best prepare for the future they choose.  A total of $3,500 is available this year, which may be divided into more than one award or may be awarded in full to one student.

Highline Promise Scholarship

Created by former Highline Superintendent Susan Enfield, this scholarship is unique in that it is offered for students pursuing post-high school education (college or trade school) or those planning a direct career path like the military, vocational, or other career pathway. Recipients of this one year award of $5,000 will be first-generation students — those who are the first in their family to attend college or, for those pursuing other career pathways, be a student whose parents did not attend college.

Jack Mayne Journalism Scholarship

New in 2023! The Jack Mayne Journalism Scholarship was created in memory of local journalist Jack Mayne, and will be awarded to a student interested in pursuing an education in journalism. This is a one-time award of $2,500.

Nature Stewards Environmental Science Scholarship

This scholarship was created to support a graduate of any Highline high school who is looking to study environmental science in their post-secondary studies. The scholarship is $3,000 for the first year of college.

Pat Hedges Memorial Scholarship

New in 2023! Funded through the SEA Golf Tournament, this new scholarship is a one-time $10,000 award in memory of Pat Hedges, longtime HMSHost employee at SeaTac Airport, who aided in the creation of the SEA Golf Tournament, and development of the STIA Scholarship (now SEA Scholarship). 

Pay It Forward Scholarship

This scholarship recognizes graduates from Evergreen High School. Up to three (3) $1,000 scholarships will be awarded.

SEA Scholarship

This is the Foundation’s longest running scholarship, funded through the SEA Golf Tournament held each July. Three scholarships will be awarded to students motivated to pursue a STEM education. Two scholarships are for $10,000 each for students planning to attend a 4-year college or university; one is for $5,000 for students planning to attend a trade school or 2-year degree program; all are renewable for a second year if minimum GPA of 2.5 is achieved. 

TinShip (Tin Room Scholarship)

Created and funded by The Tin Room, this scholarship is for graduating seniors planning to attend a trade or vocational school. One $3,000 award toward a regionally accredited technical or trade school or program will be presented this year.

Scholarship Payment Form

If you received a scholarship in 2022, please click on the form link above to access the scholarship payment form. Please complete the form to ensure your scholarship money is processed correctly and in time for any due dates. Scholarship funds are pair directly to your school. Please allow for up to one (1) month for this process. If you received a scholarship between 2019-2022, and have not used all of your funds, you may also complete this form for scholarship fund distribution.

Translate »